

## Uttar Pradesh State Universities (Amendment) Act, 2008

## 6 of 2009

CONTENTS

1. Short Title

2. Amendment Of Section 5 Of Presidents Act No. 10 Of 1973 As Amended And Re-Enacted By The U.P. Act No. 29 Of 1974

3. Amendment Of Section 37

4. Insertion Of New Sections 72-I And 72-J

5. Amendment Of The Schedule

#### SCHEDULE 1 :- THE SCHEDULE

#### Uttar Pradesh State Universities (Amendment) Act, 2008

#### 6 of 2009

An Act further to amend the Uttar Pradesh State Universities Act, 1973 It is hereby enacted in the Fifty-ninth Year of the Republic of India as follows:-- 1. Received the assent of the Governor on February 24, 2009 and published in the U.P. Gazette, Extra., Part 1, Section (Ka), dated 25th February, 2009, pp. 4-6

#### 1. Short Title :-

This Act may be called the Uttar Pradesh State Universities (Amendment) Act, 2008.

# 2. Amendment Of Section 5 Of Presidents Act No. 10 Of 1973 As Amended And Re-Enacted By The U.P. Act No. 29 Of 1974 :-

In Section 5 of the Uttar Pradesh State Universities Act, 1973 hereinafter referred to as the principal Act--

(a) in sub-section (1) the words "and the Kashi Vidyapith" shall be omitted;

(b) sub-section (3) shall be omitted.

### 3. Amendment Of Section 37 :-

In Section 37 of the principal Act, for sub-section (1), the following

sub-section shall be substituted, namely:--

"(1) This section shall apply to the universities of Doctor Bhimrao Ambedkar University, Agra, Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gorakhpur University, Gorakhpur, Chatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University, Kanpur, Chaudhary Charan Singh University, Meerut, Mahatma Jyotibha Phule Rohilkhand University, Bareilly, Vir Bahadur Singh Purvanchal University, Jaunpur, University of Bundelkhand, Jhansi, Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith, Varanasi, Doctor Ram Manohar Lohia Avadh University, Faizabad, and such other Universities (not being the University of Lucknow) as the State Government may by notification in the Gazette, specify.".

# 4. Insertion Of New Sections 72-I And 72-J :-

After Section 72-H of the principal Act, the following sections shall be inserted, namely:--

"72-I. Special provisions with respect to certain students of Vir Purvanchal University, Jaunpur.--Every person Bahadur Singh residing within the area of the Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith, Varanasi, who was permitted by the Vir Bahadur Singh Purvanchal University Jaunpur to appear in Graduate Part-I or Post Graduate Part-I Examination of 2008 from the Examination centre of District Chandauli, Mirzapur, Sant Ravidas Nagar, Sonbhadra, Varanasi and Ballia and who, on the result of the examination, has been declared successful, shall be permitted by the Vir Bahadur Singh Purvanchal the Graduate Part-II University to appear in and Part-Ill examination or the Post Graduate Part-II examination, as the case may be, of the said University from the examination centres of the above districts during the academic years 2008-2009 and 2009-2010 and on the results of such an examination the degree may be conferred by that very University, and such an examination shall be deemed to be valid.

72-J. Special provisions with respect to certain students of Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University, Kanpur.--Every person residing within the area of the Lucknow University, Lucknow, who was permitted by the Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University, Kanpur to appear in Graduate Part-I or Post Graduate Part-I Examination of 2008 from the Examination centre of District Lucknow, and who, on the result of the examination, has been declared successful, shall be permitted by the Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University, Kanpur to appear in the Graduate Part-II and Part-III examination or the Post Graduate Part-II examination, as the case may be, of the said University from the examination centres of district Lucknow during the academic years 2008-2009 and 2009-2010 and on the results of such an examination the degree may be conferred by that very University, and such an examination shall be deemed to be valid.".

# 5. Amendment Of The Schedule :-

For the Schedule to the principal Act, the following Schedule shall be substituted, namely:--

<u>SCHEDULE 1</u> THE SCHEDULE

(See Section 5)

SI. No.	Name of the University	Areas within which the University shall exercise jurisdiction
1	2	3
1	The University of Lucknow	Lucknow District
2	Chaudhary Charan Singh University, Meerut	Districts of Bhaghpat, Bulandshahr, Gautam Buddha Nagar, Ghaziabad, Meerut, Muzaffar Nagar and Saharanpur
3	Chhatrapati Shahu Ji Maharaj University, Kanpur	Districts of Allahabad, Auraiya, Etawah, Farrukhabad, Fatehpur, Hardoi, Kannauj, Kanpur Dehat, Kanpur Nagar, Kaushambhi, Lakhimpur Kheri, Sitapur, Rae Bareli and Unnao
4	Deen Dayal Upadhyaya Gorakhpur University, Gorakhpur	Districts of Basti, Deoria, Gorakhpur, Kushi Nagar, Maharajganj, Sant Kabir Nagar and Siddharth Nagar
5	Doctor Bhim Rao Ambedkar University, Agra	Districts of Agra, Aligarh, Etah, Firozabad, Hathras, Kansiram Nagar, Mainpuri and Mathura
6	Doctor Ram Manohar Lohia Avadh University, Faizabad	Districts of Ambedkar Nagar, Bahraich, Balrampur, Bara Banki, Faizabad, Gonda, Pratapgarh, Shrawasti and Sultanpur
7	Mahatma Jyotiba Phule Rohil Khand University, Bareilly	Districts of Budaun, Bareilly, Bijnor, Jyotiba Phule Nagar, Moradabad, Pilibhit, Rampur and Shahjahanpur
8	The University of Bundelkhand, Jhansi	Districts of Banda, Chitrakut, Hamirpur, Jalaun, Jhansi, Lalitpur and Mahoba
9	Vir Bahadur Singh Purvanchal University, Jaunpur	Districts of Azamgarh, Ghazipur, Jaunpur and Mau
10	Mahatma Gandhi Kashi Vidyapith,	Districts of Chandauli, Mirzapur, Sant Ravidas Nagar, Sonbhadra, Varanasi and Ballia

Varanasi
----------